HomeCare, Home Care, Homecare Derby, Elderly Care, Independent Living, Care At Home

Independent Living is a small, respectful and responsive home care service provider delivering quality, person-centred care in the local area.

Meet the team.

Jay McNicol - Director and Registered Manager.

I have held a number of posts in community care, such as Care Giver, Service Coordinator and Registered Manager, working within Health and Social Care for 10 years at the British Red Cross. Many of the British Red Cross' values (such as impartiality, equality and independence) have become ingrained within my own. I feel it is vital to ensure that impartiality is maintained at all times - everybody is entitled to the same high standard of care.

I have always ensured that every individual I personally support (or indirectly support) receives the best possible standard of care and support possible. This is why I believe a thorough and rigorous recruitment process is essential to meeting such standards. One of the key questions I ask myself when recruiting Care Givers is: "Would I feel comfortable with this individual supporting my loved one?" If the answer is not a definitive 'yes', then they simply will not be successful in the recruitment process.

Independent Living Jay Mcnicol.jpg
Donna Website.jpg

Donna Rodrigue - Team Leader.

I have worked in many different areas within the Health and Social Care field for the last 20 years. My experience covers Care Assessing and Risk Assessing, as well as hands on experience with Personal Care, Moving and Handling, Home Peritoneal Dialysis Therapy, Medication Support, Wound Care, Continence Care; Stoma and Catheter Care, Phlebotomy and Independent Living.


Having worked with Jay McNicol for almost 10 years, I know I am working for an employer who believes in people before profit. You, and the care you receive, truly matter to him.

Outside of my working life I love to work on my fitness and enjoy kickboxing, weightlifting and HIIT training. I also like to run but I’m not very good at it! I usually travel to Canada every year with my husband so we can see our family and also catch a couple of Ice Hockey games with the Montreal Canadiens.


I look forward to meeting you, supporting you and building a wonderful friendship.

Melanie Joyce - Care Giver.

I'm a very friendly, caring and understanding person, sensitive to the needs of those I support. I will always go the extra mile to help others. My approachable, easy-going nature enables me to form great friendships, and utilising my excellent listening skills within the care setting helps me when assisting those in need. It is paramount when providing care, that we listen to the wants and needs of our clients so that they can live independently where possible. I also enjoy cooking and put my skills to good use when I can in my career.

 

I have a wealth of valuable experience in the care sector, working as a live-in Carer during my professional career. In addition to this, I have experience within Domiciliary Care in my local community, as well as providing support through 'Waking Nights' and 'Sleep-ins'.

 

A few examples of the types of support I have provided, and knowledge I have include:

- Dementia Care

- Cancer Support.

- Cerebral Palsy.

- End of Life Care.

- Osteoporosis.

- Catheter Care.

- Visual Impairment.

- Parkinson's Disease.

- Wheelchair use.

- Special diets for people who have Dysphagia.

Mel.jpg

Denise - Care Giver.

Text Here

Sharon Newham - Care Giver.

I've been providing support, assistance and care to those who need an additional helping hand or two for over 10 years now. I have spent much of this time working for The British Red Cross where I engaged in all types of care and support to people in their own homes.

I'm passionate about the work I do and I look after clients how I would want my family members to be looked after. I find that no two clients are the same, as everybody has their own preferences, enjoying life differently from one another. I love meeting new people and building relationships with those that I support.

Sharon.jpg